Youth Appreciation Awards

West Vancouver’s Youth Appreciation Awards take place each year during BC Youth Week (May 1-7).

They are designed to celebrate and acknowledge the achievements and dedication of youth and youth groups who have made a significant contribution to their local or global community and who show initiative, enthusiasm, commitment and a positive attitude.

If you work with or know an exceptional youth or youth group who live and/or have made a difference in West Vancouver, nominate them for an award!

Deadline for nominations: Wednesday, April 11, 2018 at 12 p.m.

Submit your nominations online:

Individual Nomination Form

Group Nomination Form

A PDF nomination form for all awards is also available here:

Youth Appreciation Awards Nomination Form

Award Categories


The Youth Recognition Award recognizes individual youth who have made noteworthy achievements or who have achieved considerable progress in a particular endeavour, thus exhibiting the ability and commitment for personal change and growth.


The Youth Community Enhancement Award recognizes individual youth who have made a voluntary contribution to their community that resulted in a positive change or made a lasting impact, such as developing a project, serving on a committee, or participating in other volunteer work with an organization and/or group. All nominees must demonstrate a minimum contribution of 75 hours of school or community service work between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2018.


The Outstanding Youth Team Award recognizes a group of youth who have completed a minimum of 50 hours per youth of service, resulting in enhanced programs and/or services for their school or their local or global community between July 1, 2017 and June 30, 2018. If any individual youth in a group has not completed 50 hours of service, the individual does not qualify for the award. It is the Nominator’s responsibility to confirm that each individual youth in a group has completed 50 hours of service.

Note: If you are nominating a group for the Outstanding Youth Team Award, you will be asked to provide the name and contact information of the main contact person for this group. If the group is selected for an award, we will only contact the main contact person with the award ceremony details. This main contact person is the one who will be responsible for providing the award ceremony details to the selected group of youth. 

Nomination Criteria
  1. Nominations must be received by the application deadline. There will be no extension on the nomination deadline.
  2. The nominator must not be related to an individual nominee, but may be related to one or more members of a group nominee.
  3. The nominee does not have to live in the District of West Vancouver as long as the activities which are being acknowledged occurred in the District of West Vancouver.
  4. If the nominee is a District of West Vancouver resident, the activities which are being acknowledged can occur in another community.
  5. The eligible age for nominees is 13-18 years.
Selection Process
  1. Once all the nomination forms are received by the deadline, they will be reviewed by District of West Vancouver staff.
  2. The selected nominees will be contacted by phone and/or email, detailing their expected attendance at the Youth Appreciation Awards ceremony.
  3. The nominators will also be contacted by phone and/or email, detailing their requested attendance at the Youth Appreciation Awards ceremony.
  4. A youth may receive an award in more than one category in any one year. In this case, separate nomination forms must be submitted for each category.
  5. Certificates shall be presented to the recipients at the Youth Appreciation Awards ceremony.
  6. Information about the awards presented, including the names and photos of the award recipients, may be published on the District of West Vancouver’s website. Award recipients will be provided with a Personal Information Disclosure Consent form for their consideration.
2017 winners

In 2017, there were 114 unique individual youth, ages 13-18, who received awards in one or more categories: Youth Recognition, Youth Community Enhancement and Outstanding Youth Team.

The following youth were recipients of these awards. If a youth’s name is not listed, it means they have not given consent for us to publish their personal information.

Youth Recognition

  • Austin Aikman
  • Samir Damji
  • Anna Gouthro
  • Will Honcharuk
  • Dominique Joseph
  • Ethan Lippman
  • Flora Michaels
  • Angela Mischke
  • Marla Rinck
  • Arsalan Schaigan
  • Johnnie Wentzel
  • David Zou

Youth Community Enhancement

  • Kyle Alexander
  • Olivia Bosa
  • Emily Bourgault-Kennaley
  • Gabrielle Bourgault-Kennaley
  • Jaimie Chrystal
  • Jonathan Chung
  • Jenny Ding
  • Caitlin Gordon
  • Will Honcharuk
  • Sabrina Ladha
  • Sophia Ladha
  • Fumika Noguchi
  • Claire Yu
  • Cindy Zhou

Outstanding Youth Team

Changemakers Leadership Team

  • Khayali Dhanji
  • Zia Janmohamed
  • Maysa Kazemi
  • Sahra Rajani

Global Nomads Leadership Team

  • Pegah Abyaneh
  • Matthew Chasmar
  • Charlotte Goetting
  • Sayeed Mavani
  • Marla Rinck
  • Jarick Vance
  • Wensen Wang

Middle School Service Action Council Leadership Team

  • Will Collister
  • Julia Cross
  • Kaden Gulamani
  • Sahra Kassim-Lahka
  • Gabi Novak
  • Behbod Panahandeh
  • Vania Rezaei
  • Tessa Rinck
  • Christie Yang

Sentinel Boys’ Club

Senior Service Action Council Spirit Week Leaders

  • Anna Edmonds
  • Joanna Joannou
  • Joshua Levy
  • Marla Rinck
  • Luke Seybold

Student Work and Advisory Team

  • Tiffany Bai
  • Miranda Chen
  • Catherine Deng
  • Will Honcharuk
  • Bowen Huang
  • Oliver Huang
  • Parvin Mayan
  • Brett Page
  • Amber Tao
  • Chris Xu
  • David Zou

Whatever Youth Committee

  • Elliot Froese
  • Steven Nicol
  • James Rueben

District of West Vancouver Youth Advisory Committee

  • Samir Damji
  • Elaine He
  • Rosie Li
  • Ethan Lippman
  • Amy Yu
  • Joanna Zhuang

Family Services of the North Shore Youth Leadership Advisory Board

  • Emily Dorling
  • Virginia Fawkes
  • Carter Findlay
  • Mac Hardman
  • Meg Lazarowich


Melanie Clark
Youth Services Program Coordinator